Posted in Life Rescues

Let’s NOT Do Lunch

eating-aloneI’m starting to think we should stop talking these days as I pick at a phrase that get’s overused in our personal and business world. How many times have you  been caught in a situation where you bump into someone you haven’t seen in awhile. You catch up with some chitchat and at the end of the conversation, you hear the words, “let’s do lunch sometime” SOMETIMES? When exactly does sometimes fall on?

Tomorrow? (my inner thought – not likely)
Next week? (my inner thought – highly not likely)
Next month? (my inner thought – Um..did I make plans to have lunch with someone?)
Next Year? (my inner thought – what lunch? )
NEVER?? (my inner though – I have no words)

Honestly, I wonder why we utter words at all. Mean what you say. If you want to see the person again, make a commitment to follow through otherwise STFU! No point in having someone linger in the thought that there might be another meet up. If you have no intentions of hooking up for lunch, close off the conversation with ‘It was great to see you’ and leave it at that. Jerking someone’s chains just isn’t cool.

Looks like I’m getting rid of clutter when it comes to socializing. If you want to do lunch with me, just invite me out. You don’t even have to pay, I can take care of myself. The point is, it’s just nice to get out and spend time with people we say we care about.

We are NOT too busy, but if you insist that you are, because you’re just that important than just keep doing what you are doing, I’ll take care of my own lunch as I enjoy my own company.

Unknown Quote:
I know what I bring to the table…so trust me when I say I’m not afraid to eat alone.

 

Leave a comment